About Us

On March 28, 1942, a decree was issued establishing the Sta. Teresita del Nino Jesus Parish, the original name of Our Lady of Lourdes Parish.

Enshrined within the temporary church was the image of our Lady of Lourdes. To keep the image safe during the war, it was moved from place to place, until it rested for a long time in the chapel of Sta. Teresita on Mayon Street.

The church was inaugurated on August 15, 1951, by the archbishop of Manila, Monsignor Reyes who officiated at the mass which was attended by many important people including the President of the Philippine Senate, Don Mariano Jesus Cuenco who represented the Spanish Embassy and Miss Gullon, daughter of the Ambassador.[8][9]

On January 24, 1997 Our Lady of Lourdes parish was declared a national shrine, with the approval of the Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines.

The canonical coronation of Our Lady of Lourdes took place on August 22, 2020.

The National Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes Quezon City in N.S. Amoranto St. (formerly Retiro St.) Santa Mesa Heights, Quezon City under the care of the Capuchin brothers. Dedicated to Our Lady of Lourdes, the church celebrates its feast or fiesta on February 11, the anniversary of the first apparition in Lourdes, France.

The Parish Pastoral Team and the Parish Pastoral Council of the National Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes:

The Parish Pastoral Team 2019 – 2021

Parish PriestRev. Fr. Cesar F. Acuin, OFMCap.
Lay CoordinatorVictor Jose I. Luciano
Assistant Lay CoordinatorJoseph Christian P. Villaflor
SecretaryEileen R. Villaflor
TreasurerIsabelita L. Sioson
AuditorMark Hubert A. Villamiel
Property CustodianArdie E. Stein
Building MaintenanceLeonardo Pangilinan

Agendum Directors

DCPA 1 Integrating Families in the Life of the ChurchRosauro & Ma. Suzette Custodio
DCPA 2 Animating Parish LifeJoseph Christian P. Villaflor
DCPA 3 Developing Effective, Committed and Renewed Witnesses of the Catholic FaithRuby P. Macario
DCPA 4 Upholding Human Dignity and Integrity of CreationAlvin & Mariz Ricafort
DCPA 5 Engaging the YouthDennis & Lara Lara
DCPA 6 Molding Shepherds After the Heart of JesusLara Lara
DCPA 7 Maximizing New Media for EvangelizationMa. Teresita A. Arvisu
DCPA 8 Embracing Stewardship as a Way of LifeRoberto O. Parel
*DCPA – Diocese of Cubao Priority Agenda

Ministry Heads and Coordinators

Basic Ecclesial CommunityRogelito & Maria Loida Reyes
Biblical Apostolate MinistryMaritess M. Importante
Catechetical MinistryCarmelita Chua
Family & Life MinistryRosauro & Ma. Suzette Custodio
Finance MinistryElena Magalong
Formation MinistryMatt L. Martin
Public Affairs Ministry
Restorative Justice Ministry
Social Communications MinistryMa. Teresita A. Arvisu
Social Services & Development MinistryAlvin & Mariz Ricafort
Stewardship MinistryRoberto O. Parel
Urban Poor MinistryTeresa Ignacio & Susan Perea
Vocation Ministry
Worship MinistryJoseph Christian P. Villaflor
Youth Ministry

Parish Pastoral Council

Apostleship of Prayer (AP)Nelia Tan
Catholic Women’s League (CWL)Linda Garcia
Confraternity of Our Lady of Lourdes (COLL)Jocelyn Calica
Couples for ChristAlvin & Marisa Ricafort
Daughters of Mary Immaculate (DMI)Elena Magalong
Divine Mercy Apostolate (DMA)Precy Lagao
EL Shaddai (ES)Milagros Tarrangco
Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion (EMHC)Henry Bong M. Carpio
Familia CommunityRoy Dalucapas
Family Rosary Crusade (FRC)Criselda Dancel
Franciscan Youth Movement (FYM)Genesis Salud
Greeters & Collectors Ministry (GCM)Janet Bautista
Knights of Columbus (K of C)Nestor Pareja
Legion of Mary (L.O.M.)Glenn Ricafrente
Living the Rosary Community (LRC)Dorie Imperio
Malaya Catholic Charismatic Community (MCCC)Lenie Apolonio
Ministry of Altar Servers (MAS)Joseph Benedict Apostol
Ministry of Lectors (LecCom)Lourdes Nadonga
Missionary Families for Christ (MFC)Glenn & Liza Capsa
Mother Butler Guild (MBG)Isabelita L. Sioson
Music MinistryAngelo Castillo
Neo CatechumenateRoberto O. Parel
NSOLL Catholic Charismatic Community (NSOLCCC)Helen Santos
Salvacion ChapelRichie Cruz
San Isidro Labrador ChapelLigaya Gonzales
St. Pio Prayer Group (SPPG)Vic Umlas
Theotokos Prayer Mission (TPM)Rebecca Albano